Be present

I’ve lived my life off tidbits of advice. Little quips from my parents which I now know resonate through the walls of meetings, wise words from professors, bosses, friends and colleagues.

Be where your hands are – don’t get so spun out into the future afraid of what might happen that you neglect what you’re doing in the moment. Don’t get so stuck in replaying the past that it affects where you are in the moment. Are you at work? Then work. Are you washing the dishes? Then do the dishes. Are you playing with your dog? Then be with your dog, and enjoy that time. What’s coming will come, and there’s no way to predict it. There’s no way to change it, and whenever it comes, it can be handled then. No need to waste time worrying about tomorrow, today. Be present.

Be grateful

Find a higher power and pray to it – whatever it is. Recognize that my god and your god may be different but the message is the same. Love one another. Do the right thing. Take care of yourselves and each other.

What other people think about me is really none of my business

Stay right-sized

Remain teachable

Be of service to others – it is the best way to think of myself less

Be honest

Laugh – don’t take everything so seriously

I live by most of these, most of the time. It is hard not to get spun out about the future, and it is hard to not worry about what other people think about me. My ego is enormous and also tiny. It’s a paradox. I’m better than you and worse than you at the same time. What? I know. So these little tidbits are good reminders to me that it is important for me to remain humble, right-sized, and be completely present. Wherever I am , whatever I’m doing, that deserves my full attention.

This writing is in response to The Daily Post: A Piece of Advice Discover Challenge

2 thoughts on “Be present

Leave a Reply

